## ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE NATIONAL ELECTORAL COMMISSION AFTER THE PRESS CONFERENCE HELD ON

## 05.07.2010 AT 5:00 p.m. AT THE NEC'S HEADQUARTERS

On 5 July 2010 at 5:00 p.m. at the at the headquarters of the National Electoral Commission, the last press conference concerning the Presidential Election in Poland ordered for 4 July 2010 was held.

The following participated in the conference:

NEC's Chair	Judge Stefan Jaworski
-------------	-----------------------

Deputy Chair Judge Jan Kacprzak

Judge Stanisław Kosmal

NEC's Members	Judge Maria Grzelka
	Judge Andrzej Kisielewicz
	Judge Andrzej Mączyński
	Judge Janusz Niemcewicz
	Judge Włodzimierz Ryms
	Judge Stanisław Zabłocki

NEC's Secretary, Head of the National Electoral Office

Minister Kazimierz Wojciech Czaplicki

The NEC's Chair, Judge Stefan Jaworski opened the last press conference and reminded the journalists of the circumstances of the election campaign. On 10 April 2010, the then President Lech Kaczyński died in a tragic airplane crash [in Smoleńsk]. In consequence, the Office of the President of the Republic of Poland was vacated. On 24 April 2010, the Marshal of the Sejm, i.e. Lower Chamber of the Polish Parliament, announced earlier election for this office. The campaign was short. It lasted 60 days and was carried out in the aura of extreme weather conditions, i.e. heavy rain, flooding, wind storms and landslides).

Finally, on the Election Day, i.e. on 20 June 2010, ten candidates ran for the presidential Office none of which obtained an absolute majority of votes. Therefore, under the Polish Constitution, on 4 July 2010, the President of the Republic of Poland was elected in the run-off vote on the two candidates who in the first round obtained the highest number of votes, i.e. Jarosław Aleksander Kaczyński and Bronisław Maria Komorowski.

Next, the NEC's Chair, Judge Stefan Jaworski promulgated the final Announcement of the National Electoral Commission of 5 July 2010 on the Results of the Second Round of the Vote and Election for President of the Republic of Poland.

Pursuant to Art. 70 section 3 of the Act of 27 September 1990 on Election of President of the Republic of Poland (Journal of Laws of 2010 no. 72, item 467), the National Electoral Commission promulgates the results of the second round of the vote and the results of the election for President of the Republic of Poland held on 20 June and 4 July 2010.

## Chapter 1.

**Results of the Second Round of the Vote and the Election Results** 

- 1. The National Electoral Commission, on the basis of the aggregate results of the vote received from all regional electoral commissions, determined the following results of the second round of the vote for the presidential candidates in Poland:
  - 1) The vote was held in 25 773 polling stations,
  - 2) 30 833 924 electors were eligible to vote,

- 3) 17 054 690 electors received ballot cards, which includes the following information:
- 4) 11 613 electors voted through an attorney,
- 5) The total turnout was 55.31%,
- 6) 17 050 417 ballots were cast,
- 7) 16 853 021 ballot cards were valid,
- 8) 197 396 ballot cards were invalid.
- 2. The individual candidates received the following numbers of valid votes:
  - 1) KACZYŃSKI Jarosław Aleksander 7 919 134 ballots, i.e. 46.99% of the valid ballots,
  - 2) KOMOROWSKI Bronisław Maria 8 933 887 ballots, i.e. 53.01% of the valid ballots.
- 3. The Commission declares that in the second round of the election carried out on 4 July 2010 of the two candidates for President of the Republic of Poland the higher number of votes were cast and thus pursuant to Art. 127 section 6 of the Constitution of the Republic of Poland, President of the Republic of Poland was elected KOMOROWSKI Bronisław Maria.

## Chapter 2. Aggregate Results of the Vote

- Breakdown of aggregate results of the second round of the vote in the election for President of the Republic of Poland (general data) is given in Attachment no. 1 to this Announcement.
- 2. Breakdown of aggregate results of the second round of the vote in the election for President of the Republic of Poland is given in Attachment no. 2 to this Announcement.

Attachments to the Announcement are available on the official Web site of the NEC: <u>www.prezydent2010.pkw.gov.pl</u> in the Announcement section.

Next, the NEC's Chair, Judge Stefan Jaworski informed the journalists of the subsequent procedure to be applied by the National Electoral Commission. The NEC's Announcement of the Result of the Presidential Election in Poland will be published in the official Journal of Laws. On 6 July, at 12.00 o'clock, an official ceremony will be held during which the President Elect will receive the NEC's resolution concerning the results of the vote. The ceremony will be with the participation of the representatives of the authorities of the Republic of Poland. The NEC's resolution will be also submitted to the highest Polish officials.

Shortly after 5 July 2010, the National Electoral Commission will prepare and present to the Supreme Court a report on the course of election. The Supreme Court, on the basis of the report and the opinion concerning the potential electoral appeals, during the debate with the participation of all the three Chambers of the Court. i.e. the Chambers of Labour, Social Insurance and Public Affairs, not later than by the 30th day of the promulgation of the official results of the election, will make a decision concerning the validity of the election. The procedure before the Supreme Court will take place with the participation of the NEC's Chair and the Attorney General. The resolution of the Supreme Court will be officially published in the Journal of Laws.

President Elect will be sworn before the General Assembly within seven days of the date of declaration of the validity of the election. Then, the President will assume his Office and thus commence a five-year term (pursuant to Art. 127 section of the Constitution of the Republic of Poland). All the Electoral Committees whose candidates ran for the Presidential Office in Poland, within three months of the date of the election will submit the financial reports to the National Electoral Commission.

The NEC's Chair, Judge Stefan Jaworski reminded that the conference was the 24th press conference since the ordering of the earlier residential election. On behalf of the National Electoral Commission, Judge Stefan Jaworski credited the following:

- over 250 thousand members of the Local electoral Commissions in Poland and abroad as well as other persons working for and in the commissions;

- Judges of various courts performing the function of members of the Regional Electoral Commissions,

- to the hands of the Head of the National Electoral Office, Minister Kazimierz Wojciech Czaplicki, all the employees of the National Electoral Office both at the Head Office and field branches;

- Self-government authorities for their effort in the preparation and fulfilment of the election by the Local Electoral Commissions;

- Self-government authorities in the flood-stricken areas and in the areas hit hard by other weather conditions for making it possible for the local residents to participate in the election,

- Officers of the Police and City Guards for keeping peace and order;

- Representatives of the government administration, including the ministers performing their statutory functions and the Voivods, who were promptly responding the needs related to the organisation of the election;

- Representatives of other organisations involved in the organisation of the election;

- Representatives of the media;

- Representatives of the companies supporting the electoral studio.